hyperlinks not clickable

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about doPDF.
David12846
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:07 am

Postby David12846 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:52 am

I print web pages using dopdf. When I open the pdf in either Adobe Reader 9.4 or Foxit Reader 4.2 , the links are not clickable. The links on the web pages start with http ://www (I read elsewhere in the forum they had to start with http or www and not be hidden).


The page I printed using dopdf is:

naturalhandyman.com/iip/infxtra/infpicketfence.html



Softland
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:19 am

Postby Softland » Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:56 pm

Hello,


We tested the link you have mentioned but we did not find any suitable links to convert. The links must contain http ://www at the beginning or they will not be converted in the PDF. We also made some tests on pages containing links on the form http ://www.domain.com and they are working as expected.


Thank you.



David12846
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:07 am

Postby David12846 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:17 pm

On the page above the clickable link is labeled as, "Click HERE to use Al's spreadsheet online!". It is down about 3/4 on the web page.


When I hover on the link on the webpage, the link shows it begins with http ://www . It is not a "hidden link" as I've read elsewhere in the forum. Hidden links are things like white text on a white background, 1 pixel links, or links made with Javascript using code such as onMouseOver. HOWEVER, when I look at the source code for the page, the link is a relative link and not an absolute link. Are you saying links must be absolute in order to reproduce them in the pdf?



Softland
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:19 am

Postby Softland » Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:06 pm

Hello,


Yes the links must be absolute to be able to be reproduced on the PDF.


As specified in the previous reply, the link must be on the form http ://www.domain.com.


Thank you for understanding.



David12846
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:07 am

Postby David12846 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:37 am

(chuckle-chuckle) When you said, "We also made some tests on pages containing links on the form http ://www.domain.com ...", I thought you literally meant you made tests ON that website! I went to http ://www.domain.com and couldn't figure out why Softland would do a test there! I now see you meant IN the form of... . I guess I'll check the source code of the webpage from now on to be sure a link is absolute. Thanks.




Return to “General”